Sunday, 25 August 2013

Ayodhya yatra fails police crackdown on VHP

 The UP government did a great job of not allowing VHP and other Hindu saffron organizations to carry out Ayodhya yatra. Security forces turned Ayodhya into fortress and Police arrested hundreds of VHP and other saffron Hindu activists.

As the VHP was adamant to complete its 84 Kosi Parikrama Yatra, the UP government on Sunday said security arrangements would continue to check those trying to attend the banned yatra even as 1,696 persons, including Ashok Singhal and Praveen Togadia, were arrested in a crackdown.

"The tight security arrangements will continue in the state to prevent those trying to attend VHP's yatra, which has not been recalled by it..In the state, 1,696 persons including Ashok Singhal and Praveen Togadia, have been arrested in the crackdown," IG, Law and Order, RK Vishwakarma, told reporters.

In reply to a question he said that all those arrested will be put in the judicial custody for next 14 days and not be released as of now. "As the programme of yatra is till September 13, those arrested cannot be released. Preventive detentions will continue and those trying to participate in the yatra will also be arrested..," Secretary (Home) Kamal Saxena said.

In addition to the state police force, 11 company of RAF and 12 company of CRPF has been deployed in the state to maintain law and order, he said. "As VHP has announced protests on Monday district police chiefs have been asked to remain alert and ensure that law and order is maintained", the official said.

Prominent among those arrested included former Union minister of State for Home Swami Chinmayanand, Nritya Gopal Das of Ram Janmbhoomi Trust, Ram Vilas Vedanti, BJP MLAs Ram Chandra Yadav and Savatribai Phule and VHP's provincial coordinator Acharya Kushmuni. In Amethi, peethdheshwar of Sagra Ashram Abhay Chaitanya Mauni Mahraj was put under house arrest.

Temporary jails have been set up in districts of Faizabad (10), Barabanki,(12), Bahraich (16), Basti (2), Gonda (3) and Ambedkarnagar (5), which are on the yatra route. The state government had banned the yatra, stating it would not allow to set any new tradition.